Skip to main content

EPS Celebrates School Board Recognition Month

Posted Date: 01/04/2019

Thumbnail Image for Article 28475

January is School Board Recognition Month and an opportunity for local schools and communities to honor Oklahoma's more than 2,700 elected school board members for their dedication to children and schools.


"Providing Enid’s children with a quality education is the most important investment we can make," said Dr. Darrell Floyd, Superintendent of Enid Public Schools. "Board members selflessly volunteer their time and talent to make a difference for students. School Board Recognition Month is a time to say thank you and to celebrate the contributions of our elected board members."


School board members across the state develop policies and make tough decisions regarding complex educational and social issues that impact the entire community. EPS board members bear responsibility for an annual budget of $75.6 million, 8,000 students, 1,050 employees and 17 schools.


"School board members make critical decisions that affect every aspect of student success," notes Floyd. "Through their work, they preserve the core of our democracy - public education."


Gifts, including cards made by students, will be provided by EPS schools this month to thank board members for their service.


The men and women serving on the EPS Board, and the year they began their service, are Colin Abernathy, 2013; Amanda Phillips, 2015; Trent Misak, 2017; Willa Jo Fowler, 1975; Matt Sampson, 2014; Torry Turnbow, 2014; Kyle Whitehead, 2012; and Vance Air Force Base honorary member Col. Yancey Cowen, 2018.