Skip to main content

EPS Announces Teacher of the Year Candidates

Posted Date: 11/30/2020

EPS Announces Teacher of the Year Candidates

Enid Public Schools is proud to announce its 2020-21 building-level teachers of the year.

The honorees, selected by their colleagues, now will be considered for EPS Teacher of the Year, which will be revealed during the EPS Foundation Education Celebration. Details for the event will be announced by the district at a later date.

This event also will include the EPS Support Professional of the Year announcement and the celebration will be broadcast live on Suddenlink channel 19 by EPS*tv.

“These teachers are just a few of the excellent educators we have in our classrooms,” Superintendent Dr. Darrell Floyd said. “We are thankful for their leadership in each of our buildings and I congratulate them on this achievement in representing our schools.”

The EPS Teacher of the Year winner, selected by a community committee, will represent the district at the Oklahoma Teacher of the Year competition next fall.

This year’s building-level honorees include:

Shawna Tanner                       Pre-K Teacher                         Fowler Early Childhood Center

Alex Castellanos                      2nd Grade Teacher                  Adams Elementary

Karla Johnson                          Library Media Specialist         Coolidge Elementary

LaShandria Redman                Music Teacher                        Eisenhower Elementary

Janet Jones                              3rd Grade Teacher                   Garfield Elementary

Amy Ebel                                 2nd Grade Teacher                  Glenwood Elementary

Tiara Darling                           PE Teacher                              Hayes Elementary

Jami Lewis                               5th Grade Teacher                   Hoover Elementary

Michelle Holcomb                   1st Grade Teacher                   McKinley Elementary

Christie Buckner                      PE Teacher                              Monroe Elementary

Leah Simpson                          2nd Grade Teacher                  Prairie View Elementary

Alison King                              Title I Teacher                         Taft Elementary

Gary Spruill                             Art Teacher                             Emerson Middle School

Kaeli Jantz                               Math Teacher                         Longfellow Middle School

Samantha Cheatham              Special Education Teacher      Waller Middle School

Lyndsay Watts                         ICAP Teacher                           Enid High School

Garvin Kent Chesser               Virtual Learning                      Lincoln Academy

To learn more about each candidate, please visit