Skip to main content

Board of Education

Enid Board of Education

Enid Board of Education

At Enid Public Schools, the spirit of volunteerism begins at the top, with seven Board of Education members who give generously of their time to help their community, especially its young people.

The board's primary responsibility is to establish programs and procedures that will produce the best educational opportunities for district students. The board accomplishes this while also being responsible for the wise management of the resources available to the district.

The board fulfills these responsibilities by formulating and adopting policy and by selecting an executive officer to implement the policies and evaluate their results. Furthermore, the board members carry out their duties openly, while seeking the involvement and contributions of public, students and staff in their decision-making processes.

Each member is elected to a four-year term. Board members include: Matt Sampson, Torry Turnbow, Frank Nelson, Willa Jo Fowler, Colin Abernathy, Kyle Whitehead and Amanda Phillips. Col. Anthony Smith serves as an honorary, non-voting member, representing Vance Air Force Base.

Regular meetings of the Board of Education are held at 6 p.m., in the Board Room at the Administrative Services Center, 500 S. Independence. Meetings are typically held on the third Monday of each month, depending on the school calendar.

Special or emergency meetings may also be called.

School Board Map