Dr. Darrell Floyd

The Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA) is pleased to announce Dr. Darrell Floyd of Enid Public Schools as the 2023 OASA District 3 Superintendent of the Year. Floyd will be recognized at the Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration (CCOSA) Summer Leadership Conference on June 14-16, 2023.

 OASA annually recognizes outstanding administrators who:

  • demonstrate successful experience in top level educational administration
  • have a sound, dynamic and realistic philosophy of education
  • can inspire and motivate people and give support and recognition for the contributions of others
  • have a record which evidences continued professional and personal growth through appropriate training and experiences including skills in human relations and the stamina to cope with the pressures of the job
  • have the ability to speak for education on all levels with special emphasis on the district level
  • have made contributions to educational administration

 “Leadership is about building community, cultivating and empowering other leaders and focusing on student success,” said Dr. Pam Deering, CCOSA/OASA Executive Director. “These school leaders have led through many challenges. They have worked tirelessly to provide opportunities for students to learn, grow and realize their full potential. Dr. Floyd is among the best of Oklahoma administrators. We are excited and proud to recognize these outstanding leaders who represent the next level in school leadership. They are courageous leaders.”

OASA has 20 Districts that consist of multiple counties. Eligible OASA members are nominated and selected by their peers in their OASA District.

Dr. Floyd has served as Superintendent of Enid Public Schools since June 1, 2014. Prior to that, he served fourteen years as Superintendent of Schools in Stephenville, Texas. He earned a doctorate from Texas A&M University-Commerce, a masters from the University of Texas-Permian Basin, and a bachelors from Texas Tech University.

Under Floyd’s leadership, EPS has achieved numerous “Points of Pride” including: passing a $92.8 million bond election on February 9, 2016, being named a Model District for Concurrent Enrollment and Community Partnerships, receiving the District of Distinction Award from the national District Administration journal, and developing a very comprehensive districtwide Strategic Plan with the involvement of well over 1,000 community members.

“It is truly an honor to receive this award,” said Floyd. “And it is even a greater honor to have received this award twice in the span of the nine years that I have had the privilege of serving as Superintendent of Schools here in Enid, the first being in the 2016-17 school year. I work daily with outstanding educators, colleagues, and leaders. It will be bittersweet when I retire on June 30, 2023. I sincerely thank everyone who has helped make EPS successful and helped make it a great place to work and educate kids!”

Visit the CCOSA website to see past Administrator of the Year awardees. For more information about OASA and CCOSA, please visit www.ccosa.org.


OASA supports adequate funding for Oklahoma public schools, supports accountability measures, rigorous and relevant academics, fair treatment of education employees, and seeks to reduce state intrusion in local board of education matters.


The Cooperative Council for Oklahoma School Administration is an incorporated, not for profit organization which establishes close and continuous communication and cooperation between educators, taxpayers and legislators to improve the effectiveness of professional school administrators and to communicate the needs of the schools. The Council is the umbrella organization for the following professional associations: the Oklahoma Association of School Administrators (OASA), the Oklahoma Association of Secondary School Principals (OASSP), the Oklahoma Association of Elementary School Principals (OAESP), the Oklahoma Middle Level Education Association (OMLEA), and the Oklahoma Directors of Special Services (ODSS).